‘Ghost Story’ by Peter Straub

“A nice exercise in genre writing. More literary than most. A few nice phrases, a reasonably constructed plot.” — Sears James, “Ghost Story”

While I was reading the first chapter of Ghost Story by Peter Straub, I was reminded of an old comedy sketch — “Slowly I turned, step by step…” — and I thought that was a good description for my experience reading this book. (You can check out the Three Stooges’ version of that skit here.)

In the beginning, “slowly I turned, step by step” referred to how quickly (or not) I became involved in the book. This turned out to be a mistake on my part. I was misled by the first chapter. Straub begins near the end, but I didn’t know that. I assumed I was reading about what a creepy guy in a van was about to do to a little girl he’d picked up. I don’t enjoy reading stories about children being hurt, so I had to force myself to the end of the chapter. I’m glad I did, because this book was all kinds of scary awesome.

As I became more involved in the book, I thought “slowly I turned, step by step” applied to the way Straub built his story, layer by layer. Like I said, he begins near the end, then he picks up somewhere before the middle, and we learn about the beginning gradually through flashbacks, which are the ghost stories told by the Chowder Society. At the same time we’re trying to get to the beginning of the story, events are occurring that are pulling us toward a frightening climax. The elaborate structure of the story makes for a very busy reading experience, especially when it’s nearly 600 pages long and you need get to the end to make sure the evil things are dead so you can sleep. Throughout the sometimes excruciating buildup, Straub tosses in teasers that keep the reader turning pages, such as on p. 54, that Elmer Scales “could not possibly have foreseen or understood what he would be doing with that shotgun in two months’ time,” or Ricky Hawthorne’s thought on p. 81: “Something’s going to happen to this whole town.”

Fred Astaire played Ricky Hawthorne in a 1981 movie version of "Ghost Story." This photo isn't from the movie.

Even when I wasn’t sure that I wanted to read Ghost Story, I was immediately captivated by Straub’s skillful description and ability to set an eerie tone in the first chapter. I loved how he described Dr. Jaffrey’s “birdlike run” as he searches for the bridge. (p.122). Characters were vividly drawn, and my favorite was the ill-fated Elmer Scales, the bad-poetry-writing farmer with protruding ears, who declares on p. 254, “…come from Mars boy maybe you do but we’ll see how you glow when you get a load of shot in you.”

I faced my issue with children again when it came to Fenny.  In Sears’ story he reminded me of an old Cary Grant movie I’d just seen in which a family adopts an angry, handicapped orphan boy. In Room for One More, Jimmy-John ends up getting a Boy Scout award. He does not become a flesh-eating ghost/zombie/vampire. When Fenny made that transformation, I stopped worrying about him.

I think the best way to sum up my thoughts on Ghost Story would be to say that two-thirds into the book I stopped taking notes, because I knew I wouldn’t forget.

4 comments
  1. Bonus points awarded for referencing the “Niagara Falls” routine (“Slowly I turned…Step by step…”) One of my favorite Stooges routines!

  2. “The elaborate structure of the story makes for a very busy reading experience, especially when it’s nearly 600 pages long and you need get to the end to make sure the evil things are dead so you can sleep.” <–Love this!

    I thought it was kinda funny that Ghost Story actually references Fred Astaire toward the end of the novel (I don't have the book anymore so I can't cite the page) and then Fred Astaire actually got cast in the film version.

    "Slowly I turned step by step" is a great way to describe the novel's pacing. I struggled through it, and didn't like the book at first, but as I analyzed it more and more I changed my mind about it and ended up liking it. Funny, huh. And you point out how the first chapter (prologue) is misleading because it starts with a kidnapper and a little girl and then goes in a different direction. I kinda had a cheat about which way it would go from June… Last residency I took a module with Lawrence Connolly about establishing narrative tension in sci fi, fantasy, and horror, and he read an excerpt from the opening chapter as an example, to start your book in media res. He's a charismatic reader. I kinda wished he could read the whole novel out loud just for this class; he made it way more interesting than when I read it on my own.

  3. Abbey F. said:

    I agree – busy, busy read. Worth it? Yeah, yet kind of a let down, in my opinion. I think that Straub does provide readers with great buildup throughout the text. He constantly made me think what would happen next and had me worried for the characters, yet also scared at the same time. Through his wonderful job of creating the characters, he made me feel for them and made me worry. I didn’t want any of the Chowder society to die! And I thought Elmer was a great character as well. You could just picture him…waiting…waiting…and then coming up with his fabulous “poetry.” Nice post.

Leave a comment